LM Traits

Aillas is currently working through volume 3, and skirmishing. This is a good time to try a different build.

In the Shadows of Angmar era, I traited what would eventually be called “Master of Nature’s Fury”. I had Master of the Staff, Awareness of Body, Harmony with Nature, and then 2 from Flame of Anor (FoA), Proof Against All Ills (PAAI), Light of Hope, Healer, Power and Wisdom. Most of the time those last two traits would be FoA and PAII.

So in the SoA era I generally ran:

  • Master of the Staff
  • Awareness of Body
  • Harmony with Nature
  • Flame of Anor
  • Proof Against all Ills
  • Sword and Staff (legendary)
  • Eagle-friend (legendary)

I tried the other legendary traits out, just to experiment, but EGTW had a long cooldown (5m), and Noble Savage didn’t seem worth it for buffing up the earlier pets (and there was no way I was going to unslot SaS to have both the Eagle and Noble Savage).

Once Moria released and trait lines were established, that same build meant my Blinding Flash shrank to 5 seconds instead of 30s. I couldn’t get used to that so I redid my build, switching FoA for LoH. After picking up extra traits at level 53 and 57, I wound up with something like:

  • Master of the Staff
  • Awareness of Body
  • Harmony with Nature
  • Proof Against all Ills
  • Healer
  • Light of Hope
  • Fast Loader
  • Sword and Staff (legendary)
  • March of the Ents (legendary)
  • Eagle-friend (legendary)

This worked well since with only 3 traits in MoNF my Blinding Flash lasted 20 seconds, and I got a bit of a damage boost as well.

When I got the Nature-Friend legendary (summons a bog guardian), I just had to try it. As the capstone Keeper of Animals trait, that meant slotting 5 KoA traits.

  • Proof Against All Ills
  • Light of Hope
  • Healer
  • Master of Beasts
  • Beast Lore
  • Master of the Staff
  • Fast Loader
  • Sword and Staff (legendary)
  • Nature-friend (legendary)
  • Noble Savage (legendary)

This build worked decently enough, but of the KoA traits, the only one I really wanted to slot was PAII. Yes I used the healing skills, but not often enough to be thrilled with traiting them. So I eventually went back to the eagle and my general build.

Now I am going to try MoNF again, and go 5 in to trait Improved Sticky Gourd. My build will be:

  • Master of the Staff
  • Flame of Anor
  • Awareness of Body
  • Harmony with Nature
  • Improved Storm Lore
  • Study of Fire-Lore
  • Secret of Tar
  • Sword and Staff (legendary)
  • March of the Ents (legendary)
  • Improved Sticky Gourd (legendary)

This will give me a big damage boost, significant cooldown on LoTRD and EGTW, with the only drawback of a gimped BF. No more long mez, BF will only last 5s, and no more zero-induction casts. No more Eagle, so I’ll use the Raven instead. I’ll see how this works for me!

1 thought on “LM Traits”

  1. ……….Traits are a separate set of all of which are passive that provide strong bonuses for the and general character abilities. Characters do not earn enough points to use every trait or even most traits.

Leave a Reply

