GW2 – Storyline Glitch

I’ve been pleasantly surprised by recent storyline missions, particularly “Retribution”. That’s where you defend Claw Island against a dragon attack, so it is dramatic and relatively fun.

The last time I had a mission in Claw Island I thought it wasn’t well paced: lots of downtime and running back and forth, ridiculous fight odds (6+ on one, with only one NPC helping you and they seemed distracted half the time). This one went much better because you had an actual team of several NPCs accompanying you around, making the fights tough but reasonably fair.

But, I ran into a glitch while defending Fort Trinity… as in, the enemy waves quit coming. After waiting several minutes with nothing to fight, I got bored and wandered around, looking to see if there was a mob stuck on a plant or something.

Looking For Trouble
Looking For Trouble

I saw nothing, except a friendly NPC stuck in a tent:

Stuck in a Tent
Stuck in a Tent

And I despaired, guessing that this guy was supposed to follow me back to the fort entrance and participate. Him being stuck in this tent probably caused the mission to stop midway through.

So, I gave up waiting and quit the game (to the desktop). I logged back in thinking I’d just hop back in the mission and redo it.

Normally I log off at a waypoint, which seem to be “safe” from attack. I’m sure they aren’t but my experience is that mobs stop chasing you near a waypoint, so there is a little “clear” zone around them. Except this time I didn’t log off at a waypoint, since my mission glitched and I couldn’t advance. I was near the floating green star of a storyline mission, in the wilderness (well, just outside Fort Trinity but in a combat zone).

Oh no, I didn’t log back into a safe area at all, I apparently logged back into some kind of dynamic event involving an attack on the fort… and got mobbed by literally a dozen Risen that chopped me to pieces in seconds. I Rallied somehow but was dropped again immediately after the brief invulnerability wore off.

Greeting Committee
Greeting Committee

See that big cluster of Risen? I logged in right next to them and they slaughtered me, then moved to fight some NPCs. Yeah, that was awesome. So I called it a night, very frustrated after having lost progress in a storyline mission due to glitch, only to log back in to my own massacre.

2 thoughts on “GW2 – Storyline Glitch”

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  2. I haven’t checked in here for some time since I
    thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my daily bloglist.
    You deserve it my friend 🙂

Leave a comment