[AoC] Dabbling in Hyboria

Age of Conan celebrated its 9th birthday in May, and had a special: log in and get a free level 80 char. I’m a sucker for these kinds of things – even if I didn’t play an MMO all that much, it’s always handy to have a max level char. I did the same thing in WildStar – grabbed a level 50 char just in case I wind up back in the game for an extended period.

Anyway, I logged in a claimed my free level 80 and extra char slot. I went with a bear shaman and realized that I didn’t know what I was doing so I might as well start a level 1 char and play through Tortage, the starter area. My previous character was a guardian but over the years my play style has shifted towards healers, or at least characters that have the option of healing, so that’s why I picked bear shaman.

However, to dabble around for a bit I tried something else altogether: assassin. Pure melee DPS, why not.

Female characters begin in a bikini but I managed to grab more clothes along the way to Tortage.

20170523234744_1

I followed the main quest and soon found myself sneaking around to overhear a conversations, acting on that info to get rid of another enemy, etc. I’m pursuing my destiny in the main quest, which takes place in a solo night instance, while the typical leveling quests take place in public daytime. This probably is more important for PvP servers but I’m on the PvE server.

20170528112626_1

The graphics are decent and I’m having fun so far, but have yet to finish up Tortage.

Part of it is realizing this is a diversion and I don’t really intend to play much. Part of it is the assassin isn’t the class for me and I might like another one better. The combat isn’t bad – AoC has a directional attack/block system that opens up a more powerful attack – but long term motivation isn’t there due to my available time.

I guess sometimes I like to log in to another game for an hour or two, just to fiddle around as a lowbie.

I’m trying to narrow down to 3 games, which is still 1 too many, but the problem is I have 4 I want to play: LoTRO, SWL, ESO, GW2. #FirstWorldMMOProblems, I know.

 

 

One thought on “[AoC] Dabbling in Hyboria”

Leave a Reply

