Destiny

Several friends at work are into Destiny, a first-person shooter sci-fi themed MMO-ish game. Bungie does not refer to Destiny as any kind of MMO; instead it is a “shared-world shooter”. Whatever, haha.

I have a PS3 that I turn on once in a while but wasn’t thrilled about buying a copy just to check it out. However, one friend upgraded to the PS4 and had a PS3 version of Destiny he loaned to me.

It took me a few days to get around to trying it, and after inserting the disk I faced an 8.5 GB download. It progressed very slowly, timing out twice (and restarting from scratch), and took me a weekend of trying here and there to let it finish. Geez!

I guess the 8.5 GB download is the same sort of thing somebody trying a game on the PC would face, if they started with an install off a DVD. I’m so used to downloadable installers these days, where I haven’t seen a delta patch from original media in a long time. On the other hand, I remember ESO having a ginormous patch even after installing the base game via Steam, so who knows; some patchers are more efficient that others.

It took a lot longer than I’m used to, and after seeing the initial welcome screen and hitting play… it started another download/patch! What the hell?! Fortunately this secondary patch went a lot faster, “only” taking 30 mins or so.

After that I was in the game, creating my character (an Exo Warlock) and not spending a whole lot of time doing it, and then off to the intro.

I wasn’t able to take any screenshots – some PS3 games will let you press PS/start at the same time for a screenshot, but the game needs to allow that and Destiny (on the PS3 at least) does not.

Anyway, the game starts with some floating robot guide that leads you into a ruined building, and explains things on the way. You get a gun, crouch to avoid lasers, have initial combat, stuff like that.

The point of the intro is to fight your way through a few large areas to a ship, which brings you out of the tutorial and into the real game, where other players are.

I had a brutal time. I’m lousy at first-person shooters in general, even on the PC with mouse/keyboard controls. So multiply that by being even crappier with joystick controllers. Over time I would improve, but for the intro I constantly over corrected, sweeping past various mobs all intent on killing me. Add a super long reload time to whatever rifle I had, 2 or 3 large rooms with multiple enemies, and I got killed a lot. As in, 19 times according to the stat screen you can view afterwards, just in the intro area trying to get to the ship.

It was a gruesome outing and I wasn’t having much fun. None if this is Destiny’s fault – the game looked fine, played fine, seemed interesting… it is just that I am really horrible at FPS games and would not be any kind of asset to a group at all. I’d probably die so often in the actual content I would drag my friends down and I hate to be that guy nobody wants to group with, forcing my friends to group with me out of sympathy. 😉

So, this experiment was very short lived indeed. The only positive outcome is that it saved me the money of buying a PS4. Well, at least for a few months – my favorite console franchise (Ratchet & Clank) is releasing a PS4 game in a few months so I will probably break down and get one then.

2 thoughts on “Destiny”

  1. Nice post! That’s a shame about Destiny. Once you get into the thick of it and get the hang of it, it’s hard to play anything else. With The Taken King now, the game is finally how it was always supposed to be, for a decent price, with lots to do and collect. If you get bored of story missions, extremely challenging nightfall missions and raid challenges, you can just go and chill in the PVP playlists.

    If you do end up getting a PS4, and consequently buy Destiny, you can always add me. I’m in a small clan with really friendly people and we’d get you through the lot. Everybody struggles at the beginning, especially if FPS aren’t your thing. It’s a real shame you never got to see Venus, or read any of the Grimoire cards rich with hidden planetary lore.

  2. Thanks! I figure I’ll give Destiny another few tries while I have the disc. If I improve enough to be average I’d be happy. 😉 Thanks for the offer, I’ll look you up if I wind up playing on the PS4!

Leave a Reply

