LoTRO – Confusion in Glittering Caves

The good news is Naerys made it through the Glittering Caves epic battle… except I’m not sure how since I failed the final scenario. However, as the failure text faded, success text took its place. Confusing indeed!

I’d post a screenshot or two, but they aren’t interesting and it was so dark there isn’t much to see.

It was a frustrating Epic Battle because as usual, there wasn’t much guidance on where to go. I spent the first 3-4 minutes of the scenario simply looking for where Gimli was, since he was the first to call out for help, and the battle fails if he (or Gamling or Éomer) dies. I think I wandered into every little canyon or dead end looking for him, and basically resigned myself to failing the initial foray just to be more familiar for the second attempt.

But then I stumbled upon Gimli mining some rocks while being attack. I jumped in and cleared out the straggler enemies – I believe my NPC allies helped defeat the rest – and saved the mission from certain doom.

Next up was Gamling needing assistance, and it took a ridiculously long time to find him as well. Half the time I tried to follow the mini-map, I was led to some banner or barricade I had clicked and thus highlighted. Argh!

I found Gamling as well, and was able to hurriedly speak to various captains and instruct them to heal or defend. As Orcs streamed in I hung in the back, dealing with sappers determined to burn down our banners, or orc captains (orange mobs) that I taunted to myself, sparing my NPC allies the brunt of their attacks.

Éomer then cried out for assistance defending the women and children. I knew where she was, since she’s in the camp I spawned in at the start. But after getting there and waiting for a few minutes, uncertain of where exactly the enemy would appear, a new message popped up about dismantling barricades, disabling traps, and defeating Uruk bosses.

More ominously, there was an attached 5 minute countdown timer. Ok then, off to deal it, since I couldn’t locate the attack on the camp.

Here is where I thought I failed the mission. Actually, I did fail it because I achieved none of the objectives.

What happened was this: I got to what I thought were the barricades to remove, but couldn’t do anything. They were glowing so I’d right click them, examine them, what have you, but they didn’t ever go away. I’d kneel and go through a countdown, but the barricade remained. I couldn’t get past them to disable the traps further up the ramp, or defeat the Uruks… so I just watched the timer tick down while getting frustrated about the whole thing.

When it hit zero, I got a failure message… which was replaced with a joyous cry from Éomer that we could begin an evacuation. Say what?!

I’m not demanding I fail the mission since I just want to get through these Epic Battles and get back to the normal content and quest progression, but it was strange. I did nothing towards defeating the Uruks (Preparing the Charge quest), never saw any trolls attack the center of camp where all the women and children were (Civilian Defence quest), but passed the mission. Somehow staving off the first 2/3rds was good enough (Gimli and Gamling)?

I’ll take it!

If I had to guess, I think the scenario had some “glitch detection” built in. I didn’t destroy a barricade or disarm a trap, didn’t even damage an Uruk since I never saw them, fought no trolls either… so the game decided something was broken with the battle and let me succeed. I can imagine some angry tickets from players in the same situation led to a GM override that ultimately led to devs adding in a catch-all for this situation.

That’s my guess at least.

Anyway, Naerys spoke to Aragorn and will at some point in the near future start the 5th and final (hurrah!) Epic Battle, The Hornburg. I am really looking forward to finishing Vol 3 Book 13.

Leave a Reply

