Bioshock Infinite

I’m one of those people that falls victim to the regular Steam sales. I love them, and being able to buy games at a steep discount results in “acquisition disorder” whereby my list of unplayed games grows ever longer.

To combat this, I decided to spend some time combing through my collection and uninstall ones I don’t like. My tastes in games tend towards RPGs, strategy, puzzlers, platformers, RTS, tower defense, stealth action, etc. and not so much in the FPS genre. Come to think of it, I could have just said that of all the genres of games, my least favorite are FPSes. 😉

Part of that reason is that I’m one of the people that gets motion sick while playing an FPS. This goes all the way back to the original Doom, which gave us a great FPS and the acronym DIMS, for Doom Induced Motion Sickness. Doom made me queasy, but I was determined to finish the game so I played it in ~30 min chunks.

So it is somewhat ironic that the game in my collection that I am currently working through is Bioshock Infinite. I picked this up for 80% not too long ago, and decided it was time to check it out.

Stained Glass Window
Stained Glass Window

The graphics are fantastic, there are great non-obtrusive cues (Hit ENTER to do some action, then in-game the character says something), action is good… but I can only play about 30 mins before I need to stop.

I’m not too far in, and it remains to be seen if I’ll get to the end (not sure if I’m motivated enough to fight the vertigo), but I’m enjoying it so far.

I know many gamers are eagerly awaiting the Oculus Rift. For me, that thing sounds like a torture device. I am 99% sure that wearing that while playing a game would result in me throwing up. Nevertheless I think it is cool, even if I will probably be unable to use one.

Leave a Reply

