GW2 – Marionette Fight

PCGamer wrote an excellent article about this battle, read it!

My first experience with this fight was rather mysterious: I was exploring Lornar’s Pass for map completion on my ranger Glyneth. After reaching the vista north of the False River waypoint, I dropped down to mine some ore… and while doing that, a weird green beam surrounded me and suddenly I was defeated. WTF?!

So I dug around and found that I had wandered close to the Twisted Marionette event. My server lost so everybody was punished. Interesting… I spent some time reading up on the fight and the next time it was available, I switched to Aurora Tian, my elementalist, determined to see things turn out differently. 🙂

I found some great references to this battle:

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I showed up… other than huge crowds! There was definitely excitement as dozens and dozens of other players staged. Lane 3 requested more people so I made my way there and waited for the countdown along with everyone else.

In the Trenches of Lane 3
In the Trenches of Lane 3

My strategy was simple: cycle through attunements and cast whatever AOE’s weren’t on cooldown. And dodge. Eventually I was able to be a bit more sophisticated and start using water AOE’s (help heal other players), earth AOE’s at chokepoints (help cripple/slow enemies), my single air AOE (to stun), in addition to raining meteors as often as possible. I favored using my AOE’s since most are combo fields that would then let other players that use combo finishers to trigger a larger effect.

This worked well and we triggered phase 2 of the right, so I ran towards the energy field.

Going to Phase 2
Going to Phase 2

This is the part where each lane gets split into platforms and fights a Champion. Each one is different (see the guides) and involve a lot of positioning and dodging with some crazy fight pyrotechnics going on all around: sensory overload and fun in a very hectic way. My platform was able to do our part, which left us to cheer on the other platforms.

Spectating
Spectating

Unfortunately it didn’t work out and we failed the event.

Mass Carnage
Mass Carnage

Overall it was still a pretty fun time. Quick to get to (False River Waypoint), ~30 mins of intense fighting and crazy boss mechanics, involvement of dozens (hundreds) of players, no elaborate or lengthy setup to participate. Good times.

Later, I returned with Glyneth and gave this fight a try with a ranger. I put spirits down (frost and stone), healing spring on recharge, picked a ranged pet, and barraged/rapid fired as much as possible.

Ranged Fighting
Ranged Fighting

We advanced to the Phase 2 platform portion where I eventually missed a dodge and fell. But the rest of my platform was OK so they kept on fighting our Champion… while I watched other platforms.

Watching the Battle
Watching the Battle

Here is where I get fuzzy on what exactly happened. I think our lane was successful overall, and we exited out to resume the Phase 1 tower defense portion. Somehow, we went back to the Phase 2 section again and fought, and this time at the end of destroying the Power Node, we saw that wonderful “Event Succeeded” message that sent the entire area cheering.

Success!
Success!

We saw Scarlet’s Marionette collapse and then were rewarded with a gigantic chest.

Victory Reward
Victory Reward

This was also fun, and of course defeating the Marionette was even more awesome. 😉

I’ve been back a few other times and so far, only participated in the one victory on my ranger. Looking for another, and having fun either way!

Leave a Reply

