LoTRO – Gift of the Valar 2

We left our heroine freshly arrived in Celondim. But she would not be there long…

Before using the Gift of the Valar, I ran over to grab the horse route in Celondim. Then I used the gift, and was immediately transported to Echad Dúnann, as promised.

My immediate view was the portal into the Walls of Moria:

GoTV Welcome
GoTV Welcome

I turned around for a scenic landscape view and examined my other goodies. First up was the Level 50 weapon pack, which gave me an Advanced Sword and an Advanced Bow.

GoTV Weapons
GoTV Weapons

After that I opened the Jewelry box and received:

GoTV Jewelry
GoTV Jewelry

No pocket item was included, but I had a Derudh’s Stone for that slot.

Next I opened the Armor box:

GoTV Armor
GoTV Armor

and the Virtues boxes, giving me rank 4 in everything:

GoTV Virtues
GoTV Virtues

Unfortunately, no racial traits were included. The Elf traits are on the LoTRO Wiki, and I’d definitely like to have Silvan Shadows, Return to Rivendell, Eldar’s Grace, and the Elf One-Handed Sword-damage bonus. The good news is those traits are earned by killing goblins, orcs, and drakes, which I should have no trouble finding in Moria!

The other box of miscellaneous items were consumables, mounts, riding trait – quite the grab bag:

GoTV extra goodies
GoTV extra goodies

Good thing the Riding Characteristic was included, so I could use my new goat and 4 other mounts from various pre-orders and purchases! I think the Steed of the Eastemnet looks the best:

Steed of the Eastemnet
Steed of the Eastemnet

Anyway, I wrapped up by binding to the milestone at Echad Dúnann. And, I bought a Milestone 2 skill from the store, along with Hurried Traveller.

I checked with the Champion trainer and I was granted all active and passive skills up to level 50. So I need to read over those skills to learn what I have.

Crafting, unfortunately, was left behind. If I want to gather materials, it looks like I’ll need to take this char back to the beginner zones and start there. This is kind of annoying as the materials in Eregion are at the Master and Supreme tier, Moria is the Supreme tier, so I can’t gather anything unless I work up from Apprentice first. Ugh.

As far are class traits, I opted for Bezerker. The rapid leveling resulted in a mere 22 points to allocate:

Class Traits
Class Traits

I closed the UI before doing anything, as I’d like to read through my existing skills before allocating trait points.

Next up I will plunge into Moria. Or more accurately, talk to Ráthwald and pick up a quest.

I’ll need to play a bit and see how “ready” this new level 50 is for Moria, so I’ll check back in after a bit.

P.S. One thing I did notice is that I was not awarded any of the Survival titles – other than “The Wary” (I reached level 5 in the intro instance). So no cheating and getting a free “Undying” title by using the Gift of the Valar! As it stands, my champion is undefeated at level 50 so I’ll see how far I can go with that. 😉 My best yet was my rune-keeper who made it to 27 or 28 before succumbing to the wights of Garth Agarwen.

3 thoughts on “LoTRO – Gift of the Valar 2”

  1. If you have a TP surplus, I think you can buy crafting tier anvils from the store.
    I would like to point out that the “Undying” title is no longer the mark of achievement it once was. Since LotRO began awarding character XP for crafting, a shop rat can get to level cap with hardly ever having to leave the workbench or face a foe.

    1. Thanks – I didn’t realize that tier anvils existed. And I forgot about the crafting revamp that awarded xp; now it is possible to level in total safety as you pointed out. That’s funny because my own minstrel/yeoman leveled from 61 to 62 by farming in the Shire, haha.

Leave a Reply

