GW2 – Jumping Around

Check out the quick start guide that Azuriel put up – lots of great info there, complete with handy screenshots! The guide also shows how to fix the “slow turning camera” issue I mentioned in my last post – so many thanks! Now I can turn (via the mouse) and not feel like I’m stuck in molasses.

I’m continuing to have fun in Guild Wars 2, taking it easy, seeing the sights, exploring and doing various quests (filling in hearts). So far I enjoy the Asura and Sylvari areas the most, because of the scenic landscapes. I don’t enjoy the Charr area quite as much, with its blasted wartorn wasteland vibe. I think the artists nailed the Charr area; I just happen to like a different look.

Anyway, I’ve found something kinda fun to do – those jumping puzzles to get to scenic vistas! When I’m near one, I spend a little time trying to figure out how to get to the map piece. I totally get that some people hate them, but so far I’m having fun with them.. For example, here is my Sylvari mesmer at the bottom of the jump puzzle inside The Grove near the Caledon Path gate. The glowy map piece is visible at the top.

Jumping Puzzle
Jumping Puzzle

Midway up I decided to check my progress…

Midway Up
Midway Up

and after a few more careful jumps, I reached the top! My only advice is obvious: straighten out, line up each jump, and don’t jump with auto-run. 😉

The Summit
The Summit

The map piece activates for a view flyby, a bit of xp, and progress on filling in the tracking bar. I took a screenshot towards the end of this one:

Flyby View
Flyby View
Leave a Reply

