FE – Welcome to the Apocalypse

Fallen Earth has been on my list of MMOs to check out for many, many months. In an embarrassing admission, I bought the game in early 2010, before it went F2P. Then I got too busy to check it out, and I never installed it. When I heard it went F2P I was thrilled, because I’d be able to play a little bit and not feel guilty about a subscription. (The fact that monthly fees are an entertainment bargain is a whole ‘nother post. Besides, I am willing to support games I enjoy by buying stuff from in-game stores – the subscription thing is more feeling that I have to prioritize a game I’m paying for over one I’m not).

Anyway, I finally decided to give it a go, and rolled up a character.

The tutorial was fun, and covered typical ground: movement, interacting with objects, looting, equipping and switching weapons, combat, etc. It ended with a choice of starter area to travel to. I wasn’t sure, and since the list categorized areas by combat or crafting focus, I chose a crafting one, and soon emerged at South Burb as a Vista faction member.

The two main halves of the South Burb outpost have a number of quests available, trainers, and merchants. I spent some time getting familiar with combat, doing some quests, gathering and crafting (of which there is a lot!).

The difference between combat mode and exploration mode was something I had to get used to. It reminded me of Asheron’s Call, which also had a “fight” mode and a “movement” mode – something I haven’t seen in a game I’ve played since then!

Two nits I have: the quest tracker doesn’t always work (popup when hovering the mouse over the X on the mini-map doesn’t consistently show for me), and the in-game map seems locked at a detail level (dragging it larger just makes it blurrier). But those aren’t really big issues that detract from the game as a whole.

I’m having a lot of fun so far. The landscape and setting are a fantastic break from the fantasy world so many other MMOs use.

South Burb at Night
South Burb at Night
1 thought on “FE – Welcome to the Apocalypse”

  1. The difference between combat mode and exploration mode was something I had to get used to. It reminded me of Asheron’s Call, which also had a “fight” mode and a “movement” mode – something I haven’t seen in a game I’ve played since then!

Leave a Reply

