ATiTD – Building a Compound

As a newly minted Level 1 Citizen, I set out to do the natural thing in an MMO – level up. 😉 Leveling works a little different in this game – instead of killing stuff for experience points, I had to finish a test.

Tests are organized into groups of disciplines, with each discipline containing seven tests. Each discipline also has Principle “intro quest” (e.g. Principles of Architecture) that must be finished first.

At level 1, the only tests available to me were Principles of Architecture, Principles of Body, and Principles of Harmony. In each case, completing the Principles would allow me to take further tests in the Discipline, and earn a level.

The Principles of Architecture required resource gathering, Principles of Body required identifying plants within a time limit, and Principles of Harmony required talking to several other players and meeting ones with various titles.

Of these, I opted to work on the Principles of Architecture. The Principles of Harmony looks like one to try later when I find a hub of players – so far I’ve only seen around 5 total. And I ruled out Principles of Body since I haven’t learned how to fast travel yet (“Exploration Travel”). Thus, I ran to a School of Architecture and clicked to see what I had to do.

Architecture entry
Architecture entry

The Principles of Architecture task is to build a compound then expand it,

Compound tuition
Compound tuition

and the tuition is 100 boards and 200 bricks.

Gathering the wood was easy enough – I ran around to various trees and gathered wood from them. Unlike other MMOs, the resource nodes here doesn’t vanish after being harvested, they stay in the world. (For that matter, resources don’t show up on the mini-map so far as I can tell). But, that doesn’t mean you can click furiously on something and harvest all you need quickly:

Resource timeout
Resource timeout

This didn’t actually hold me up much since I ran between three clumps of trees, and by the time I was back around, the tree was ready to be harvested again. I did keep track of how much time this took, and it was 4 minutes to gather 100 wood.

Turning that wood into boards was another matter – that requires a wood plane (which I had already built). So I started planing my wood into boards, but after a bit, the plane broke!

Broken wood plane
Broken wood plane

Making a stone blade required slate, which I gathered… to sum up, between broken blades, gathering slate, and planing the wood, it took a total of 18 minutes to plane 100 wood into boards.

Hm….

Anyway, onto making bricks. Since bricks take sand, straw, and mud, I started gathering them. Sand and mud came from the banks of a nearby river, and is easy to gather since you can specify how much you want to pick up (there is even a “max” button). Straw took a while, because you have to gather grass, then drop it and wait for it to dry into straw (the bundle changes color). All together it took me another 23 minutes to gather resources – there was a little bit of inventory juggling in there, plus I probably wasn’t as efficient drying grass into straw while gathering more.

Making the bricks took another 17 minutes (I used two brick racks) and then I ran back to the School of Architecture to pay my tuition. The next step was to build a compound, which requires… 100 boards and 200 bricks to start, and then more materials to expand in order to complete the task.

3 thoughts on “ATiTD – Building a Compound”

  1. Oh, tip. Build several wood planes, at least 3-4 and have about 20 stone blades already in your inventory. Then you can hold down P and sweep your mouse across the planes to get boards more quickly than one at a time on one wood plane.

    Principles of Body goes by quite quickly and effortlessly. Just take note of the biggest, most varied clumps of plants in the area and get ready to run there and back again.

    You can look forward to being much faster with wood when you have a hatchet, much faster with grass if you pay for Rhythmic Strength (500 grass *gasps* :P) and have a scythe and basket and um, nothing will help on the slate besides a macro. *wry grin*

  2. The clean lines of the civil architecture in Edo influenced the sukiya style of residential architecture. Katsura Detached Palace and Shugaku-in Imperial Villa on the outskirts of Kyōto are good examples of this style. Their architecture has simple lines and decor and uses wood in its natural state.

Leave a Reply

