Elder Scrolls Online

Some big news is confirmation of an Elder Scrolls MMO.

I’m a fan of the Elder Scrolls series. I played Morrowind a huge amount, in the months before I was drawn back into the MMO scene by Guild Wars. I didn’t play Oblivion that much, mostly because I was in the clutches of LoTRO at the time. 😉 And in my recent break from MMOs, I started Skyrim and am still poking along (I’m not very far: I am helping out the Stormcloaks in the Civil War quest line, and will soon visit High Hrothgar and the Greybeards as far as the main quest).

Anyway, the thing I like the most about this series is that my character is the hero of prophecy, the savior of the world. In Morrowind I fulfilled the Nerevarine prophecy, and in Skyrim I am Dohvakiin (Dragonborn).

Basically, it is awesome that I’m the center of the game world. However, I can’t imagine how this unique state translates to an MMO very well.

But, it doesn’t matter, because I’m not going to jump on the despair wagon. Zenimax/Bethesda might deliver a fantastic game… I think we should just wait patiently and see what happens. As much as I dislike the hype and idolizing of games before their release, I also dislike premature backlash and gloom.

Leave a Reply

