AoC – Left Hyboria

Eagle-eyed readers will note I posted about entering Hyboria, and then nothing about AoC since (there was a long haitus in there as well).

Well, the reason for that is I stopped playing AoC. Why? Largely because I prioritized games I want to play (or try), compared against my actual real available time, and concluded I can barely play the games I want to so I needed to scale back my ambitions. And AoC was one such game. Basically I enjoy LoTRO more, and have a limit to the number of fantasy-themed MMOs I can play without them all blurring together.

I did enjoy it. I leveled a guardian to 10 (or 12?) and found the game to be pretty good overall. Yes, I didn’t really get very far, I didn’t level very high, didn’t hit the max level and have enough time to complain about lack of content or how boring the raids were – you know, the same stuff die-hard complainers always find issue with – but I did have some fun questing and leveling. The combination system for blocking and opening more powerful attacks was a nice change over the typical battle system.

I think the game got screwed by a rushed released and early stability/bugginess/balance issues, and now has a self-dug pit to climb out of. The game is better than its early reputation. However, the current field is thick with strong competition so it will tough for any game in this situation to make a come back.

Leave a Reply

