Entering Hyboria

OK I’ve been slack about updating the blog… that’s because I got really into LoTRO for a bit, and figured tons of posts about my progress would be kinda dull. The whole point of me starting this blog was to write about various MMOs, not just one. I love LoTRO, don’t get me wrong, but I find variety enhances the overall experience.

With that in mind, I noticed that Age of Conan has a free trial, so I decided to try it out. I’ve heard a lot about this game, so I will take the opportunity to check it out. The free trial will work great for me, because I’ll be able to play the intro island on multiple chars to get a good feel for this game’s style and classes.

I took a few hours to download the game so I didn’t get much time to play. All I really did was make a char and enter the game for about 10 mins.

Char creation went well; I flipped around between various races and male/female characters before settling on a female Cimmerian bear shaman. I wanted something a little more “fantasy” than a barbarian, ranger, assassin, etc… some sort of spellcaster or magic user and bear shaman sounded different and unique to the world of Conan the Barbarian, so I went with that.

The story so far: I was a slave that survived a shipwreck, and to guarantee my freedom I need to find and kill the slaver captain before he reports his loss at a city on the island. I found a woman chained up, blocking the way further into the island, and decide to help her – that required me to kill a scavenger on the beach and get the key… and that’s where I have to stop tonight.

First Quest
Coming back to help

So far so good, the graphics are great, voiceovers for the quests are nice (but I understand the voiceovers are only for the intro isle, which is also what I am limited to on a trial account), the game pops up various hint and tutorial boxes (standard stuff these days, but integrated nicely – I get a quest, a tutorial pops up telling me what to do and so on).

The combat system looks slightly different, with left/overhead/right attack directions. There were some pop ups about combination points and defense, but I didn’t read them and plan to save that for another session. I’m also hoping to get some cool magic or shape shifting skills soon. 😉

1 thought on “Entering Hyboria”

Leave a Reply

