Cosmetic Hauberks

I’m not normally into cosmetic items. I make reasonably “attractive” character models, or at least avoid really ugly ones – after all I gotta spend hours staring at my char while playing, they need to look decent – but since I typically play in 3rd person with the camera hovering a ways back, I’m not seeing a screenfull of the char. They usually have a cloak so I really just see some flapping cloth, when I’m not otherwise fighting or crafting or traveling, etc.

But then I did something and saw my Lore-master Aillas wearing his random collection of quest rewards and/or crafted gear, and it looked bad. Terrible actually!

So I searched around trying to figure out what to do, and I remembered the LoTRO store sells cosmetic items. I get 500 points a month as a former lifetime subscriber, plus I bought a few more when Turbine ran a special and included bonus points, so I went in determined to buy some outfits to make all my chars look like they didn’t collect their gear from the trash can.

I settled on hauberks because I like the look.

First, a before shot of Aillas wearing his random quest reward stuff.

Quest Reward Gear
Quest Reward Gear

Pretty bad, eh? I’m surprised the Malledhrim didn’t kick him out of Ost Galadh. But Aillas is an Ally and nearly Kindred; I’m surprised an elf didn’t have pity and give over some snazzier looking clothing.

Now here is Aillas wearing the much nicer looking Hauberk of the Eagle’s Crest:

Hauberk of the Eagle's Crest
Hauberk of the Eagle's Crest

That went well so I kept on buying at the store. Here is Dhrun wearing the Sellsword’s Hauberk, in Caras Galadhon:

Sellsword's Hauberk
Sellsword's Hauberk

Suldrun, wearing the Hauberk of the Greenwood, in the Caras Galadhon Auction Hall:

Hauberk of the Greenwood
Hauberk of the Greenwood

Rhaenys, wearing the Hauberk of Mirrormere, in the 21st Hall’s Auction Hall:

Hauberk of Mirrormere
Hauberk of Mirrormere

Glyneth, outside Bree, wearing the Hauberk of Glory:

Hauberk of Glory
Hauberk of Glory

I also bought the Hauberk of Rhûn but didn’t like that one as much. I tucked it away in my wardrobe and will bring it out for variety some other time.

For Naerys I decided to get the Shirrif’s Hauberk, available at the outfitter in Michel Delving. It seemed appropriate as Naerys is a hobbit, and a Shirrif, having completed tons of Shire quests. I may even have the Bounder’s Hat stashed away in her vault. I think the Shirrif’s Hauberk looks fantastic as well, and it is very inexpensive.

Naerys, in Esteldin, in a hobbit appropriate Shirrif’s Hauberk:

Shirrif's Hauberk
Shirrif's Hauberk

So yeah, now I guess I’ll be eyeing appearances and cosmetic gear more than I have in the past. This was just the hauberks – I didn’t look at the other cosmetic options available. I’m satisfied for now but I must admit I am curious what other appearance options are around. Maybe I’ll even skirmish for cosmetic rewards, cross my fingers for yule boxes and festival gifts, etc. Hehe.

One thought on “Cosmetic Hauberks”

Leave a Reply

